A Journey in the Right Direction

I am a work in progress.  I suppose we could all say this of ourselves, but I feel like I have been really working towards a goal.  And this goal is a vintage lifestyle.

I am at a point in my life where I have decided to please myself, even if it means being the only lady in town to do her grocery shopping in a circle skirt, and to bring devilled eggs or Jell-o salads to potluck dinners.  Life is too short to be someone other people think I should be.  But it has taken a long time to learn this lesson, and it’s going to take a long time to implement the many changes (let’s call them “upgrades!”) I wish to accomplish.

To me, a Vintage Lifestyle is one that embraces the benefits of the old-fashioned-modern way of life.  So I aim to collect (and use!) old bakeware, and to cut down my curtains into clothing when their lives are done gracing my windows.  I want to sew my own clothing and trim my own hats.  I will scrub my house top to bottom with baking soda and vinegar concoctions instead of noxious store-bought cleaners, and wear a cute apron while I do it!  A Vintage Lifestyle is about being green and thrifty, creatively solving household problems and employing long lasting solutions.  This is who I want to be!

And not just to pin curl my hair and wear wiggle dresses.  Although I intend there to be plenty of that in my future, too.  So here’s to my journey backwards, with all it entails!

My first real vintage hat!

My first real vintage hat!

Leave a Reply

