Victory Rolls!

Today I was brave enough to wear victory rolls in my hair to work! I tested them out over the Halloween week, asking everybody who was unfortunate enough to make eye contact with me if my hairstyle was work-appropriate. It turns out that I am way too conscious about these little things.

IMG_20131107_163806

Voila!

But I am still not brave enough to have my rolls upright! One toe at a time, I am gingerly easing into this vintage look. I made an appointment to have my hair cut (it’s getting too long to pin curl quickly) so these are the last photographs at this length!  More pics to come tomorrow.

IMG_20131107_163850

Still pretty close to my head.

The rolls are a perfect way to disguise the fact that my hair is beginning to need a wash. Before, I just threw a couple of combs into the side to pull it back, but I think I like this option better. I grabbed a couple of barrettes from the dollar store, and have been itching to try a “Samantha Stevens” hairstyle! She usually has it clipped in the back in a half up, half down sort of ‘do. It makes me smile to notice how the sixties hairstyles often seem to look like grown-out and inflated fifties hairstyles.

bewitched

The adorable Elizabeth Montgomery.

At this length, it takes me about an hour to pin curl my whole head. I am looking forward to a shorter ‘do, mainly to cut down on setting time. But of course when I’m curly, I don’t have to wash my hair every other day, so it ends up saving me time and energy in the long run. PLUS, when I wake up I don’t have to think about what to do with my hair that day. I can just unpin, brush, and I’m done!

Leave a Reply

