Damsels of Burlesque

I feel a bit isolated here on the Island; there aren’t a lot of people dressing outside the norm, and it doesn’t seem as though there are many folks interested in vintage.  It is a very casual lifestyle out here.  I take it upon myself to find reasons to dress up, every day.  And every get-together I attend is an excuse to dress up even more!  Life is too short to wear yoga pants and a T-shirt all the time.

In my search for other weirdoes like me, I have been drawn to the art of Burlesque.  There are two troupes (that I know of!) here in Nanaimo, and another in Parksville.  I attended my first show in September, and was blown away by the magic.  The “Suit and Tie Affair” put on by “Naughty and Spice” was fabulous!  These performers were having a blast.  And it was such an unusual crowd in attendance.  I knew I would make some friends there; and indeed I met Ruby Kitten and Bumpin’ Blossoms, two of the ladies from the Parksville troupe, “The Damsels in DisDress”.

1146637_10151998022805239_863834507_n

Tonight I brought a few friends with me, to “An Evening of Burlesque” put on by the lovely “Damsels in DisDress”.  This was one of those events I had to dress up EXTRA fancy for…especially as my wedding dress is beginning to fit poorly through the hips.  This was very probably the last time I would be able to wear it.  (We will see; surely there will be a Christmas cocktail party I can flaunt it at!)

The show was incredible!  There were so many more performances than I was expecting.  Well, I don’t know what I was expecting, but I promise you I got more than whatever it was!  I am sad that I left my camera at home, especially as the host announced that photographs were welcome; just no flash.  So no pictures of either the event or myself.  Except for my nails.

Dita Nails

Happy Anniversary! and Got the Blues for Red, both by OPI

The ladies are self-described as “a classic-style Vaudeville Burlesque Troupe”, and that statement couldn’t be closer to the truth.  There was more performance than nudity, at this strip show!  Every act was well thought out and charmingly executed, and I felt like the tiny smatterings of vulgarity were a spice to the evening rather than an overpowering musk.

There was live music for several of the acts to bump to, sweet and suggestive original songs sung by the adorable Miss Candy Apples, and Jemma Riot’s enormous “Lucille Ball” eyes.  I couldn’t get enough of the group performances by the Damsels themselves; it was really fun to see more than one performer in an act.  It was amazing to see performers from the other end of the Island, coming to support this group in their first big show.  I love how close knit this community is.   (Indeed, I recognised several ladies from the Nanaimo troupes in the audience, also!)

1453472_561268030608250_50398681_n

Miss Candy Apples

1452138_561267100608343_502818866_n

The opening act; a silhouette show.

 

All in all it was a wonderful, wonderful experience.  I will absolutely be rushing to see another show by the Damsels, the next time around.  And so should anybody else, here on the Island!

One thought on “Damsels of Burlesque

  1. SO glad you were able to make it and, by reading what you shared of your experience, I’m glad to say that what you felt was exactly what we were going for!!! Yay!!! I’ll be sharing this post and coming back to read more in the future too!!

Leave a Reply

