OPI “Glitter Off” Base Coat Review Part 1

I know this isn’t technically vintage, but we can argue that mid-century ladies had a strong fondness for lacquered fingernails, and frankly so do I.

I ran into the supplier on Saturday to grab some acetone, as I was en route to remove a friend’s acrylic nails, and while paying I noticed a small OPI display of “Glitter Off” natural nail base coat. I was intrigued, and went home to research the product. (Who doesn’t hate glitter polish for its painfully time-consuming and work-intensive removal?) Shockingly, I discovered nothing but press releases! Quick as a bunny I flew back to grab a bottle, so I could test it out.

The instructions on the attached mini-booklet are deceptively simple. “Apply a thin coat; dry completely; apply polish. To remove, gently push and peel it all off.” Now, because I like to wear my polish for three to four days at a time, I am proceeding with an ever so slightly tweaked application. I polished the base coat with a tiny bit of room before hitting my cuticle. The polish is ever so slightly back from that edge. And my topcoat will be over everything, including that bare nail. Hopefully this will seal in the edges until I am actually ready to peel.

So far, everything has proceeded as normal.  No issues with application, nor with the addition of the colour or topcoat.  Dry time of the base on its own is minimal, only a few minutes.  And it doesn’t seem to have affected dry time for the rest of the layers.  Two coats of the polish shade, and the top coat I used was Lumos.

Glitter Off Demo

I even drew a picture to illustrate the adjusted technique.

2014-03-04 00.37.35

Totally polish free. Yes they are a bit yellow.

2014-03-04 00.40.28

The base coat dries clear, but looks like this initially. It has almost no odor at all, but for a faint ‘Elmers Glue’ like hint.

2014-03-04 01.12.58

All done! This colour is China Glaze “Some Like it Haute”. (I bought nearly everything from this collection. I am sure it is obvious why. <3) This colour is AWFUL to remove, which is why I seldom wear it.

This product was not sent for review.  Stay tuned for a future post: The Outcome!

Leave a Reply

